Marriage License FAQs

What is needed to get a marriage license?
All that is required for single adults to obtain a marriage license is for them to come in person to the Clerk's office, bring their driver license or other acceptable identification card and be prepared to pay the fee. A recent change in the law also requires both applicants to provide either their Social Security number, naturalization number, immigration number or passport number. Return to Top
Do I have to pay the marriage license fee in cash?
No. Payment may be made by cashier's check, certified check, money order, or credit card.  Our office accepts Visa, MasterCard, American Express and Discover.  A convenience fee of $2.00 or 2.95% of the total charge, whichever is greater will be assessed when paying by credit card.  (The Clerk's Office does not receive any part of this fee.)  Please refer to Fees & Charges under the Quick Links box on our Home page for the cost of a marriage license. Return to Top
Is there a waiting period before our ceremony can be performed?
For Florida residents who file certification that they both have completed a state sanctioned marriage preparation course within the past 12 months, there is no waiting period. For Florida residents who have not both taken the course, there is a three-day waiting period between issuance of the license and the time it becomes valid for use. (Note: The parties may have taken the course separately. They are not required to have taken it together, but both must have taken it in order to qualify for the discounted fee and no-waiting period.) Return to Top
Does the waiting period apply to nonresidents of Florida?
No. If either party is a nonresident of this state, no waiting period is required. Return to Top
Can there be exceptions to the waiting period requirement?
The law provides for waiving the three-day waiting period if the parties declare there is a specific "hardship" in their situation. Return to Top
Do both parties have to be present at the clerk's office to apply for a license?
Yes. However, exceptions can be made only when there is good cause in extreme circumstances. Return to Top
Are we required to have a blood test to apply for a license?
No. Blood tests for marriages in Florida are no longer required. Return to Top
How long does it take to get a license?
When the application is filed, the license is issued immediately. The process normally takes no more than 15 minutes. However, there is a three-day waiting period before the license becomes valid for use, if both parties are Florida residents and both parties have not completed a state sanctioned marriage preparation course. Return to Top
What are the age restrictions for obtaining a marriage license?
To obtain a license without parental consent, both of the applicants must be at least 18 years of age. The 18-year minimum age does not apply for individuals who have been married previously. The age requirement can be waived by a county judge for applicants who can prove they are parents or expectant parents. Return to Top
Can an individual who is younger than 16 get a marriage license from the Clerk's Office with parental permission?

No. With or without parental permission, a marriage license to anyone under age 16 can only be issued by a county judge.

Return to Top
Is the signature of just one parent sufficient to qualify as parental permission for a minor to marry?
No. Permission of one parent is only sufficient if that parent has sole legal custody of the minor or if the other parent is deceased. Return to Top
How long is the marriage license valid?
Florida marriage licenses are valid for 60 days from date of issuance. The marriage license form must be returned to the Clerk's Office for recording within 10 days after the marriage is performed. Return to Top
How long does it usually take to get a certified copy of our marriage record?
Certified copies are normally received within 10 days after the completed marriage certificate is returned to the clerk's office for recording in the county's official records. Return to Top
Do one or both of the marriage license applicants have to be American citizens?
No. There is no citizenship requirement. Return to Top
Can the Clerk's Office perform the marriage?
Yes. Deputy clerks can perform a civil marriage ceremony, but there is an additional charge for that service. Please note: a clerk cannot perform the marriage at the time the license is obtained if the three-day waiting period applies. Return to Top
Do we have to make an advance appointment for a license and civil marriage ceremony?
No. Licenses are issued and marriages performed without appointments during normal business hours. Return to Top
My spouse and I want to renew our vows. Do we need to get a license for this?
No. Return to Top
How do we go about renewing our marriage vows?

Talk to your clergyman, chaplain, other religious adviser or personal counselor.

Return to Top
Do I need my divorce papers or spouse's death certificate in order to apply for a marriage license?
No. You do not need the documents, but the application does require you to note when and how your last marriage ended (divorce, annulment or death) . Return to Top
Can I legally marry my nephew?
No. Although the marriage license application does not specifically ask about possible relationship of the parties, Florida law prohibits close blood relations from legally marrying. The nearest degree of relations who may legally marry in the state of Florida is first cousins. Return to Top
May I obtain a license to marry my partner of the same gender?
Yes.  As of 01/06/2015, applicants may marry partners of their own gender. Return to Top
Who may Issue a Marriage License?
Every marriage license shall be issued by a county judge or clerk of the Circuit Court under his hand and seal. The county judge or clerk of the circuit court shall issue such license, upon application for the license, if there appears to be no impediments to the marriage. Return to Top
Can a blank Marriage License be issued?
It is unlawful for any county court judge or clerk of the circuit court in the state to send out of his office any marriage license signed in blank to be issued upon application to persons not in the office of the county judge or clerk of the circuit court. However, under some unusual circumstances, and at the discretion of the marriage license supervisor, an application may be filled out by one of the parties (leaving no blanks), with the understanding that the absent party will provide sworn certification subsequently in order for the license procedure to be properly validated. Return to Top
Who may perform Marriages?

(1) All regularly ordained ministers of the gospel or elders in communion with some church, or other ordained clergy, and all judicial officers, clerks of the circuit courts, and notaries public of this state may solemnize the rights of matrimonial contract, under the regulations prescribed by law.

(2) Any marriage which may be had and solemnized among the people called “Quakers” or “Friends”, in the manner and form used or practiced in their societies, according to their rites and ceremonies, shall be good and valid in law; and whenever the words “minister” and “elder” are used in this chapter, they shall be held to include all the persons connected with the Society of Friends, or Quakers, who perform or have charge of the marriage ceremony according to their rites and ceremonies. [F.S. 741.07]

Return to Top
When must a license be filed?
A license must be certified and filed with the Clerk’s office within 10 days of the ceremony. Return to Top